Day 83: The Value of Challenge

Standard

If it was easy it wouldn’t be a challenge. Imagine how boring life would be if we stayed in our comfort zone all the time. I don’t feel like doing anything some days. Challenge pushes us forward into the middle of life where we have to do something or what? We waste our life away. I’m grateful for the challenges that have awakened me to living my best life.

When you have post-traumatic stress disorder, PTSD creates periods of depression and anxiety. I have dealt with this most of my life. Through medication and many years of therapy, I’ve learned tools that help me to recognize what is happening. It’s like getting stuck to a spider web. If I don’t take the challenge right away, getting myself unstuck becomes a harder challenge. There is no easy way to work through such difficult challenges that PTSD brings up in your life. But what I learned was that even in the worst of situations I still have a choice. This was a huge awakening that gave me a sense of empowerment. I still hadn’t taken on the challenges yet. There was one more thing I needed to know. Was I willing to change? It was only through my willingness to change that I could find the courage to take on the challenges it would take. Each challenge became a building block. And each building block gave me the confidence to take on the next big challenge. It took a lot of hard work and time to build the foundation I have today.

Reflection: Thinking back there were many times I wanted to give up. I would turn to God asking Him to please take this burden from me. But I learned what my potential was through each challenge that came my way. I am better, more empowered, and confident…just as God knew I would be…once I discover it for myself.

Leave a comment