“Being Set Free”

Standard

Michelangelo said, “I saw the angel in the marble, and carved until I set him free.”

breaking free

In the circumstances of my childhood I had no control in which way the hand moved. When I become an adult the carving knife was placed in my own hands. I’d been chipped and carved into a mishmash paddy-wackily way. What could I make of what I’d become up to this point. With blinders on I tried it my way. I was able to smooth away some of the rough edges, but picked up many splinters along the way. Eventually I could hold the knife no more from the pain, and so I let it go.

It was in the letting go, that I placed the knife back in my Creators hands.

It was in the letting go, that I could heal.

It was in the letting go that He gave it back…only then He placed His hand upon mine and we began to work as One.

It was in letting go that my true self came into view.

It was in letting go that I was set free.

It was in letting go that I came to understand that the marble and carver had always been One.

About Author

Connie calls herself an autodidact writer. The word autodidact is as impressive as the time it takes to teach yourself how to master a craft. Auto means "self" and "didact" comes from the Greek word for "teach." Connie learned by reading, taking home study courses, and creative writing workshops. She talked, practiced and shared with other writers who encouraged her to write her story because it was too important, not to tell. Connie has three blogs, one sharing spiritual thoughts, another on aging gracefully, and the other her author site. She is so passionate about writing that she gets up every day at 5:00 am and writes for 2hours. She's a wife, mother, grandmother and great grandmother. Her hobbies are genealogy, lots of crafts, too many to mention. If you ask Connie what the greatest accomplishment of her life has been? She'll tell you it's the life she created by believing in something better, "The Promise!"

One response »

Leave a comment